Course Details

Civil servants are the permanent bureaucracy in India forms an inseparable part of the executive branch of the Government of India, thus providing continuity to the administration. They hold key and strategic positions in the Union Government, States and public-sector undertakings.

Most IAS officers start their careers in the state administration at the sub-divisional level as a sub-divisional magistrate. They are entrusted with the law and order situation of the city along with general administration and development work of the areas under their charge.

Designations held by IAS officers during field posting are as follows:

  1. SDO/SDM/Joint Collector/ Chief Development Officer (CDO)
  2. District Magistrate/District Collector/Deputy Commissioner
  3. Divisional Commissioner
  4. Member Board of Revenue
  5. Chairman of Revenue

Indian Administrative Service (IAS) is one of the premier services of Government of India. IAS was constituted in 1946. Prior to that Indian Imperial Service (1893-1946) was in force.

The basic pattern of the cadre system in the Civil Service was established following the recommendations of the Aitchison Commission. Provincial Civil Service constituted in the 1890s was also on the basis of the recommendations of the Aitchison Commission. In 1912 the Islington commission was appointed to study Civil Service reforms. By 1934, the system of  administration in India came gradually to consist of seven All India Services and five Central Departments.

IAS posts are filled by direct recruits as well as by promotion /appointment of State Civil Services officers/ Non-State Civil Service officers.

Age Limit & Number of Attempts
General 21 to 32 6
OBC 21 to 35 9
SC/ST 21 to 37 Unlimited
Examination Schedule :-
February Notification January Results of the Mains
June Prelims February/March Personality Test/Interview
July/August Results of the prelims April/May Final Result and Selection
October Mains
Stage of the Examination :
Stage Name Papers Paper Pattern Total Marks
Stage 1 Prelims 1+1* Objective 200
Stage 2 Mains 2*+7 Descriptive 1750
Personality Test NA Oral 275

Scheme and Subjects for the IAS Preliminary and Main Examinations :

Preliminary Examination :-

Current events of national and international importance. History of India and Indian National Movement.Indian and world Geography-Physical, Social, Economic Geography of India and the World.

Indian Polity and Governance-Constitution, Political System, Panchayati Raj, Public Policy, Rights Issues, etc. Economic and Social Development-Sustainable Development, Poverty, Inclusion, Demographics, Social Sector Initiatives, etc.

General issues on Environmental ecology, Bio-diversity and Climate change – that do not require subject specialization.

General Science.

Paper II- (200 marks) Duration : 2 hours

Comprehension :

Interpersonal skills including communication skills;

Logical reasoning and analytical ability;

Decision Making and problem Solving;

General mental ability;

Basic numeracy (numbers and their relations, orders of magnitude, etc.) (Class X level), Data interpretation (charts, graphs, tables, data sufficiency etc. – Class X level);

Note 1: Paper-II of the Civil Services (Preliminary) Examination will be a qualifying paper with minimum qualifying marks fixed at 33%.

Note 2: The questions will be of multiple choice, objective type.

Mains Examination

Qualifying Papers (25% marks in each paper required to qualify)

Compulsory Papers (Papers to be counted for merit) Total Marks- 1750

Personality Test- 275 Marks

Paper-A 300 Marks *Indian Language

Paper-B 300 Mark English

Paper-1 250 Marks Essay

Paper-II General Studies-I 250 Marks

( Indian Heritage and Culture, History and Geography of the World and Society)

Paper-III General Studies-II 250 Marks

( Governance, Constitution, Polity, Social Justice and International relations)

Paper-IV General Studies-III 250 Marks

(Technology, Economic Development, Bio-diversity, Environment, Security and Disaster Management)

Paper-V General Studies-IV 250 Marks

(Ethics, Integrity and Aptitude)

Paper-VI 250 Marks Optional Subject-Paper-1
Paper-VII 250 Marks Optional Subject- Paper-2